Fishermen’s Ball: Big Fish and Hudson Heroes – 1985 to present day

Debbie_Harry-photos by Ann Billingsley-2019
View more images on our Flickr site

The Fishermen’s Ball is Riverkeeper’s largest annual fundraiser, and for more than 25 years we have welcomed hundreds of local and community partners, environmental organizations, philanthropists, business people, friends, celebrities, and supporters to help honor our Big Fish – individuals and companies whose commitment to environmental protection inspires our work.  At our 50th anniversary in 2016, Riverkeeper added the Hudson Hero award to the Fishermen’s Ball to celebrate local activists.  Together, these awards demonstrate Riverkeeper’s commitment to protect and restore the Hudson River and safeguard drinking water for New Yorkers.

Big Fish Award Honorees

AIG/Joseph BorenDebbie Harry - by Ann Billingsley
Hon. Michael R. Bloomberg
Louis M. Bacon
Alec Baldwin
Rob Bilott
Joe Boren
Majora Carter
Yvon Chouinard
President Bill Clinton
Chelsea Clinton
Laurie and Larry David
Leonardo DiCaprio
Fran Dunwell
Rick Fersch
Eileen Fisher
Catherine Coleman Flowers
Harrison Ford
Tom Freston
Paul Gallay
Debbie Harry
Hearst Corporation
Jami and Klaus Heidegger
George Hornig
Paul Tudor Jones, II
Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.
Jeff Koons
Ralph Lauren
William McDonough
Patty and John McEnroe
Nell Newman
Participant MediaChelsea Clinton - Fishermen's Ball 2014
Veronique and Robert W. Pittman
Arthur Ross
Dr. Howard Rubin
Mark Ruffalo
Pete Seeger
Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
Super Law Group
Trudie Styler and Sting
Ted Turner

Hudson Hero Award Honorees

Mark Ruffalo - Photo Ann BillingsleyJon Bowermaster
David O. Carpenter
Robert De Niro
Karen Mejia
Mary McNamara
Pace Environmental Law
Newburgh Clean Water Project

You can view photos from past Fishermen’s Ball events on Flickr >

Above photos by Ann Billingsley and Neil Rasmus

Tell Gov. Hochul and Gov. Murphy: We need smarter flood protection plans
Become a Member