Riverkeeper Blogs > Posts > Press Releases

Posts

The Drug Take Back Act is law:
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo signed the Drug Take Back Act on Tuesday, legislation that will go a long way in protecting the state’s waterways from pharmaceutical contamination. Riverkeeper’s research and advocacy helped drive the conversation to get the legislation passed. More
Riverkeeper welcomes new leadership
New leadership will help Riverkeeper seize important clean water opportunities in the year to come Ossining, NY — With one of its most successful years in more than five decades of clean water advocacy drawing to a close in June, Riverkeeper elected new directors and […] More
A statement from Riverkeeper President Paul Gallay regarding today’s announcement by Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and New York Attorney General Barbara Underwood: “Riverkeeper applauds the initiative taken today by Governor Andrew Cuomo and State Attorney General Barbara Underwood to sue the manufacturers of PFOS to […] More
Riverkeeper fully supports Ulster County Executive Mike Hein’s call to suspend Glidepath’s proposed Lincoln Park gas-fueled electric power plant in the Town of Ulster and to restructure state and federal economic incentives and policy to facilitate clean energy storage and generation projects. Several studies, including […] More
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Media Contact: Lauren Christopher, Labatt USA (716) 796-5940 lauren.christopher@nabreweries.com Labatt USA Partners with Riverkeeper to Promote Local Water Stewardship in New York State This Summer Investment in local organization serves as part of Labatt USA’s larger partnership with the global Waterkeeper Alliance to protect and […] More
2018-06-06
Contacts: Jeremy Cherson, Riverkeeper, 770-630-6790, jcherson@riverkeeper.org Megan Ahearn, NYPIRG, (212) 349-6460 x1166, mahearn@nypirg.org Roger Downs, Sierra Club Atlantic Chapter, (518) 426-9144, roger.downs@sierraclub.org Adrienne Esposito, Citizens Campaign for the Environment, (516) 390-7150, aesposito@citizenscampaign.orgPatrick McClellen, New York League of Conservation Voters, (203) 313-0528, pmcclellan@nylcv.org Jennifer Caddick, Alliance for the Great Lakes, ?(312) 445-9760, jcaddick@greatlakes.org Advocates […] More
Groups applaud critical DEC report; call for legislature to pass Drug Take Back Act before end of session Safe drug disposal of unused and expired prescription drugs critical to address opioid crisis and protect waters from contamination Albany, NY—A coalition of environmental, public health, and […] More
Seven communities, representing 100,000 people who rely on the river as source of drinking water, create Hudson River Drinking Water Intermunicipal Council Municipal leaders from the Towns of Esopus, Lloyd, Hyde Park, City and Town of Poughkeepsie and the Village and Town of Rhinebeck meet […] More
14106963462_f4625e4aa9_k
Group applauds plan for $30.7 million in funding for the Estuarine Sanctuary and the Cuomo Administration’s support for continued habitat restoration & research spending. Ossining, N.Y. — The office of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo has invited Riverkeeper to help incorporate a proposal for $134 million in habitat restoration […] More
In response to an announcement today by Global Companies (Oil company abandons possible tar sands oil facility at Port of Albany) Riverkeeper Senior Attorney Erin Doran said: “Riverkeeper is pleased to see that Global has withdrawn its misguided request to add boilers to handle heavy […] More
Support the New York Bring Your Own Bag Act
Become a Member